“Painted Walls” Antelope Slot Canyon

Painted Walls

 

This is a photo that I took about a year ago in Page, Arizona. The Antelope Slot Canyons are some of the most amazing places I’ve ever personally seen. This particular photo was taken towards the end of the Upper Slot Canyon about mid day in late February 2014. I remember just coming across this as I was finishing up. The way the light was coming through the narrow opening at that particular point of the canyon was what caught my eye. It was just enough light to illuminate the natural reds on the sandstone walls.

So I set up my tripod and took a couple of shots to get the settings just right to capture enough of the image without over or under exposing it. This is actually one single image and not an HDR photo like most photos you typically see from the canyon. What I love about this image is that it does capture the beauty that is the Antelope slot canyon areas. I named this photo “Painted Walls” due to the walls look like they’ve been painted with shades of red. It is almost like the lines on the wall are all the brush strokes it took to create this natural wonder.

Thank you for reading and hope you enjoy this photo as much as I do. For more of my photos please check out my Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/jarrodamesphotography

Leave a Reply

