“Heart Of The Canyon” by Jarrod Ames Photography

Heart of the Canyon Final Logo Web

Just in time for Valentines Day!!

This photo is one of my absolute favorites that I have ever taken. This image is also from my trip to the Antelope Slot Canyons in Arizona back in February of 2014. This area is heavily photographed for it’s amazing colors and abstract compositions.

This image is called “Heart Of The Canyon” because of the obvious heart shape. This is where the canyon makes a particular tight turn and when you stand in the right spot and look up, you will see this heart shape form. I used my Canon slr at the time and my manfrotto tripod to set up this image. The balance between the lights and the darks was very challenging in this image. I took several shots trying to find the correct balance to properly capture all the colors in this image.

After about 5 shots I finally settled on this shot and thought it was the most balanced while offering the best color dynamic range of the composition. This is one single image and not and HDR image so that the colors are more natural and more balanced.

Thank you for stopping by and check out more of my photography at my Facebook page in the sidebar!

One thought on ““Heart Of The Canyon” by Jarrod Ames Photography

  1. This is certainly an amazing place. I visited it back in the early 80’s before it had been commercialized. You opened the gate, essentially drove in until you got stuck in the sand and then walked the rest of the way. I was in there for about 4 hours all by myself! Not quite the experience one gets today. Nice shot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

