“Reflection Falls” a photograph from Yosemite National Park

Yosemite Falls from the river

Yosemite Falls from the river

A couple of weeks ago I made a trip to Yosemite National Park. Yosemite has always been on my list of places to visit and even more so now that I am a photographer. This national park is just gorgeous at every turn and offers up countless photograph opportunities. From the drive in through Tunnel View to the very last stop off before returning back to the highway, Yosemite is just spectacular! I was there for 2 days and that was just not even close to being enough time to see everything I wanted too. I like to hike and climb and Yosemite is not short on adventures! This is just one of the many photos I took.

This photo is called “Reflection Falls” and was a photo I almost didn’t take!! As I was driving through their loop at the park, I came across a turn off as there are several on the loop. This parking lot turnoff was for the swinging bridge and looked from first glances to be uninteresting as far as photography goes. However, it is my love of bridges and photographing them that made me stop and take a look at what it may offer. It was pretty busy even early in the morning and there was no way I could get a clear shot of the entire bridge. So I decided to walk across the bridge and see what other people were taking photos of. There was a nice sand bank to the left and El Capitan in the background. As I turned to see what was in the other direction I saw this photo above! I was absolutely struck by the river cutting through the scene and casting a reflection of Yosemite Falls in the background. I immediately thought what a beautiful black and white photo this would make! So to pay respects to another great photographer, Ansel Adams, I found the right spot to complete the composition and shot in portrait. I tried to shoot landscape but the scene was too much and would distract the viewer from what I wanted to convey here.

I am very pleased with the final result and this photo was one of 5 photos that really made this trip completely worth it. Please Like and share and enjoy this image! More to come later on. If you would like a copy of this photo it is now available online at http://www.jarrodamesphotography.com/prints/reflection-falls

Leave a Reply

